Photos et lettres des Philippines, de France et d'ailleurs

Photos et lettres  des Philippines, de France  et d'ailleurs

March 2009, Manila

After nearly three months in France in a winter with temperatures more like inside a freezer than a refrigerator, I took the plane to Manila on 8 March 2009. This time I was flying with Qatar Airways instead of Cathay Pacific. I think that is a little less well, a little longer, more cramped seating in economy class but nothing in any case worth to pay 300 Euros more for Cathay.
I therefore arrived on March 9 at 3 pm in Manila airport, where after having claimed my luggage I took a taxi to go to my hotel. The ride cost me 600 pesos (10 Euros) because it was a yellow cab from the airport. It is more expensive but no surprises because the taxi drivers in Manila are among the most dishonest in the world and I will confirm this assertion later
so I arrived at the Rothman hotel in the tourist district of Ermita, before 5pm. It is an excellent value for money for Manila with its 30 Euros per night, but always fully booked so it has to be reserved well in advance.


My standard room)

(Adriatico street near the hotel)

http://www.rothmanhotel.com/


Then I went to change money before meeting my sister-in-law for dinner. To do this I went to three 'Money changers' I knew before to get the best rate. Beware because all kind of crooks await you in this area including 'Money changers' who will not hesitate in some sleight of hand to steal you a few bills or to give you false ones. So I changed my money at Crown executive travel agency because they can be trusted.

crownexectravel@yahoo.com


(Pedro Gil street where is my money changer)


In these streets and especially to a single man, it will be offered exchange rate too high to be honest, old coins, fake Rolex watches,  true prostitute girls, boys etc..
It was my sister-in-law's day off, she is the Pastor of a parish in the suburbs of Manila and also Head of their private school. I had to give her on behalf of my wife a budget of 300 Euros for the yearly tuition fees of a child but also for the first time another envelope of 345 Euros for another child this time supported by a neighbor and friend of us. Bravo lady! Because they are not wealthy people just middle class and she insisted to do that knowing that this noble deed should be repeated until the boy who is 9 years old finishes his studies.
Before she went back to her far suburbs, I invited my sister-in-law for dinner in a seafood restaurant just nearby my hotel, it is the Zamboanga restaurant. Of course it is for tourists and it is expensive (10 € per person ...) but in Manila all costs at least double compared to the province. In fact I returned the next day for dinner in the same restaurant but this time to take some pictures of the folk dancing.


(A few pictures of the performance)

http://zamboangarestaurant.com/


The next day I took a taxi instead should I say 4 taxis to go to Shangri-la Mall in Mandaluyong to inquire about the remote control of a my home theater in their  store for ... .6 months to be repaired. But let us go back to taxis. The first asked me how much I was paying for the ride refusing to use his meter. The second says that his meter was not working, the third set out without any discussion, but the car broke down a little further and he hailed a colleague with whom I discussed and  he also deplored the dishonesty of so many of them especially with foreigners in the tourist district. It cost me 100 pesos, 1.50 Euros, for a ride of 20-30 minutes. I therefore reached the commercial center of the Shangri-La near the mega shopping mall in Mandaluyong near the business district of Makati. It was 10:30 and I learned with surprise that it opened only at 11am and as I had to wait another 30 minutes for my store to open. I was told that I would have news about my remote within the day. It did not happen and I had to call up the next day . Well I should get it early April after eight months and a trip of my remote in UK. I cross my fingers.
It must be said that since I do nothing like the others as said a former friend, I deserved well my trouble.

I have bought in Manila in 2006, a home theater consisting of Japanese, Chinese, Danish and English items and with the exception of the plasma TV, 40 to 50% less expensive than in France. This may explain the risks I take.


(My home theater)


In the afternoon I went in the district of Quiapo, known for its market, the "Black nazareean Church, its Chinese shopkeepers and pickpockets. It is also in this neighborhood that are the cheapest photo equipment dealers in the Philippines. I went at Henrys then Mayers with shops looking more than a small hardware store than a one selling the most sophisticated equipment worth small fortunes. The reception is at the height of the place, cold and nothing commercial. Prices are take it or leave it and better we know in advance what we want.
I needed to replace a zoom lens stolen when my house was burglarized last December, so I bought it the next day with even a one year Canon warranty. I paid in cash because it would have cost 6% more with a credit card.


(I am testing my new zoom lens)


I spent three nights in this city singularly missing attraction, famous for its pollution and traffic jams but which should nevertheless be seen and which remain essential for many things.


(Roxas boulevard in the morning)

(The top of the Hyatt hotel in Ermita))


On 12 March at 14:50 I flew to Dumaguete where I arrived at 4 pm. Here it is another world. My luggage was claimed by a porter I knew for a long time and my friend Charly was awaiting me.
Charly invited me and other friends for a good dinner with wines and finally I arrived home around 10 pm. Dodong Nora and my helpers were waiting for me and my idiot dog took the opportunity to escape. It must be said that the runaway animal never goes far away and he doesn't even worry the kids despite his 35 kilos of muscle. It is true that he is as gentle as a lamb. That's my Doberman named Brousse but we like him as he is. But beware if you harm his master or violate his house!


(Brousse, my Doberman dog)



22/03/2009
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 21 autres membres