Photos et lettres des Philippines, de France et d'ailleurs

Photos et lettres  des Philippines, de France  et d'ailleurs

May 2011: A quiet month with a few road trips with my 4-wheel drive

The end of May is rapidly approaching and with it my three-month stay in the Philippines. It was a very quiet period with a social life now virtually nonexistent. Over the years, friends have died, others have moved or returned home while with those who stay our relations have cooled which was predictable because these links were primarily based on an origin and a common language rather than on real affinities. Nevertheless I still have the house in a magnificent setting with the sea in front and the mountains at the back. I communicate daily with my family and friends in France and I have my favorite pastimes such as reading, music, movies, writing, and also especially here photography. This latest passion compels me to go out and visit places sometimes crowded but others never or little explored by tourists and foreigners who live here.

 

 

(For a better understanding of my road trips and the photos, here is the map of Negros. Our house is located near Maluay to the south of Dumaguete and before Zamboanguita)

 

 

Thus, on May 3 I went to Sipalay 175 km to the south from the house. Sipalay is a popular place for tourists and divers with essentially two main beaches where are situated the main resorts. The first is Sugar Beach where I had not been since 2004 and is accessible only after 15-20 minutes by boat. We must therefore leave our vehicle in a parking lot near the river.

 

 

 

(Sipalay, on the river towards the sea and Sugar Beach)

 

 

The second is reachable by road and is called Punta Ballo White Beach. So I chose Sugar Beach and I took a bungalow at Takatuka Lodge which decor is reminiscent of a children's story. The owner is German and his wife a French-speaking Swiss, we are warmly welcome, the food excellent and plentiful for very reasonable prices. So my bungalow with air conditioning cost me only 24 €. Unfortunately the weather was bad and instead of the beautiful sunset I had a storm and rain.

 

 

(Sipalay, Sugar Beach by bad weather)

(Sipalay. Sugar Beach, Takatuka Lodge)

 

 

 The next day for a change of scenery, I decided to drive the northern route 50 km longer via Kabankalan and Mabinay then Dumaguete and the house near Zamboanguita. Again clouds and rain accompanied me a good part of the way.

On 9 May I contented myself with a small tour of a half-day near Valencia west of Dumaguete. I wanted to see the Malobo falls again and their special red color due to iron oxide. When I arrived almost on the spot I found the road blocked without any sign warning in advance. Unable to turn on this narrow road and I had to back out more than a hundred meters even though I am still so bad for this kind of maneuver.

 

 

(Valencia, the iron-bearing stream)

 

As the end of my stay was approaching and I did not do a long car trip yet unlike the previous times, therefore I left on May 16 for three days with a new route by a mountain track of 50 km between Bayawan and Mabinay.

 

(Just a little idea of the 50 kilometers track between Bayawan and Mabinay)

(The washing in the river)

(A traditional mountain house)

 

 So my first leg was about 325 km long and took me from Bayawan to San Carlos skirting by the southern flank of Kanlaon volcano with its summit in the clouds.

 

(The Southern slopes of Kanlaon volcano)

(In front, the Humayan mount)

 

In San Carlos I took a 14 € room air-conditioned at Lola Nitang's pension always so nice with the exception of the Filipino breakfast to which I prefer a hearty American breakfast. Under the link of Lola Nitang's pension.

 

 

http://www.sancarloscityinteractive.com/directory/listing/detail.php?id=52154


The second day I traveled about 300 km. First eastward about 80 km on the beautiful mountain road that connects San Carlos to Murcia then once on the west coast, south toward Kabankalan and Sipalay again.

 

 

(On the road from San Carlos to Murcia, a hacienda in the mountain)

(On the road from San Carlos to Murcia, the Northern slopes of Kanlaon volcano)

 

(Now on the western coast of Negros, a fishermen village at Hinigaran)

 

 

I arrived almost at sunset and this time I chose the beach of Punta Bello where I had not been since 2008 and I went to the Artistic Diving and Beach Resort as expensive (27 €) and in my opinion of less quality that its neighbor Easy Diving Resort and Takatuka Lodge on Sugar Beach, both for housing and food. While nearly all the resorts are run by Swiss Germans, they are far from being all of the same level.

 

 

(Sipalay, Punta Ballo White beach at sunset)

 

http://www.artisticdiving.com/

http://www.easydiving.ph/

 

 

(Sipalay, Punta Ballo White beach at sunrise)

 

The next day I hit the road for the 175 km that still separated me from the house where I arrived exhausted at lunchtime after having traveled 800 kilometers in three days. Finally to finish with my photographic trips, May 21 I went only a few kilometers from my home in the mountains to see the twin hot springs of Baslay. First to reach that place the mountain trail was in such a bad condition that I had to use the 4-wheel drive then it 386 meters down the stairs to get there and furthermore even more difficult to walk back up. This beauty spot was worth but a few days later I still have sore knees and legs.

 

 

(On the mountain track between Masaplod and the Baslay twin hot springs)

 

 

(The Baslay hot springs)

 (And finally some steps to climb before going back to the track and the car)

 

 

I am now almost ready to go back home and I look forward now to see France again, my family and friends. My Scheduled departure to Manila is on June 4 and June 5, I will fly from Manila to Paris via Singapore aboard the Airbus A380 with the excellent Singapore Airlines.

 

 http://www.singaporeair.com/



26/05/2011
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 21 autres membres