Photos et lettres des Philippines, de France et d'ailleurs

Photos et lettres  des Philippines, de France  et d'ailleurs

March 2010: from 19 to 31

On March 19 my faithful friend Charly was waiting for me at the Dumaguete airport. The time to buy some basic groceries and I was finally at home where Nora and Dodong, my caretaker couple, were happy to see me again.
My two new dogs, Zoey and Zarah easily recognized their master and made a fuss of me.
Unfortunately two of my three female cats were missing, killed by the two wolves who never admitted their seniority rights, even though Mimine, the mother was born on the lot 5 years ago during the construction of the house.
The next day I had to go into the city to stock up with provisions and then to return in the evening as Charly had organized a very nice dinner where I was happy to see most of my friends.


(From left to right, Michel, Charly and Angelo)

(Part of the guests)

(Our friend the Canon Jacques de B.)


(One of Elma and Angelo two daughters)


Then it was again the routine with my fridge and my wine cooler both broken down. These problems that I meet regularly with my appliances are most often caused by the poor quality of the power provided by NORECO, the local electricity supplier which does not hesitated in addition of the brownouts now more frequent and longer, to deliver 160 volts instead of 220 volts required. In spite of my transformer and my auto voltage regulator, the most sophisticated appliances and therefore the most fragile, cannot resist. Once again when in Rome do as the Romans do, and I should have acquired the brands purchased by locals. Fortunately, the technicians gave me an old substitute refrigerator because it's summer and the beginning of the long school holidays. The temperature can reach 35 degrees Celsius during the day and it has not rained for a long time because of the weather phenomenon called El Niño originating from the western coast of South America and that brings unusually dry conditions that are dramatic for nature, cultures and people.
Of course my Pajero 4x4 would not leave me in peace, and began to lose a little oil from the power steering. Last December it was first the pull out of the engine because of a big oil leak with the change of seals already replaced a year ago and then also later the pull out of the automatic transmission with also the change of seals changed a year before. I am even wondering if it was not knowingly that the repair shop put bad quality spare parts in order to create problems again with the car particularly at the approach of Christmas. However the transmission continued to lose oil and during my stay in France the mechanic got the vehicle again, and this time put better seals. But as soon as I got back he had the nerve to ask me to pay 3000 pesos (€ 50) for a repair he had botched up. He got the brush-off and I entrusted my car to another mechanic.
To my surprise I got back my Pajero without anymore problem and I road-tested it for eight days.
Now it is very reassuring to see that the power steering is leaking again though much less so I wait a bit before bringing it back at the repair shop. As I tell my family and my friends, all of that keeps me busy.
So on March 23, I took advantage of good weather to go to the "Twin lakes" where I had not been for five years. We  have to go to the North of Dumaguete toward  San Jose for about 15 kilometers and then take the mountain road westward for another 15 kilometers. The landscape seen from the mountain road, fortunately now a little in better shape than before, is magnificent. I was less enthusiastic with the lakes that are 800 meters in altitude. I should have had probably taken the one-hour boat ride to better enjoy their charm but I did not.


 

(The twin lakes)

(Back from the twin lakes, views from the mountain road)


Charly had told me that the roads reconstruction in the area came to an end so on March 24, I redid another road trip a little beyond Bais, the sugar cane capital of the Province of Negros Oriental, located 50 kilometers north of Dumaguete. I ate rather well at Campuyo Aroma, a beach resort near Manjuyod, off the beaten track and away from the hordes of tourists.


(Near Bais, the road under a acacias branches vault) 

(Near Bais, an old locomotive still in use in some areas to transport the sugar canes to the mill)


Late March is here the time of graduation and it is a very important moment in the local community for parents and family and for students and pupils as well. This ceremony is still full of great solemnity with students wearing their togas.
In the evening of the 29 I was invited in Dauin by Filipinos friends to celebrate the elementary school graduation of the youngest daughter of the family.


(The elementary school graduate)


That day was also the elementary school graduation of Renald, my caretakers'son. I had proposed to go there to take some pictures but they preferred that did that the next day for the high school graduation of their oldest daughter, Rosalyn.
On 30 March, the ceremony began with a Mass at the Zamboanguita

church for this occasion crammed with people.


(The mass at the Zamboanguita church and Rosalyn)


Then we all went to the municipal gymnasium. As in all major events in Philippine sports, entertainment and even in the morning, the start of classes, the national anthem was played and the graduation ceremony began.


(The gymnasium during the ceremony)

(The handing of the diploma)


Rosalyn, an average student, received no special distinctions, but the pride and joy of the parents of the young girl of 16 was a pleasure to see.


(The pride and the joy of the family)

(It is time for the gifts)


Curious also that here the duration of schooling before entering College is only ten years unlike the twelve years required almost everywhere else in the world.


(Rosalyn and her friends)


Once finished I drove them back to their house filled with all the family members who had come to celebrate the event. There was no room left for me and they were also embarrassed by the modesty of their home therefore Nora preferred to bring to my house my share of food she had cooked for the occasion.
Now another story will begin or end. What the new graduate will do? Here the Colleges are not free and her parents cannot afford even NORSU, the State University although less expensive than the private universities. With her education level, Rosalyn will not find any interesting job just casual and precarious ones. She will be unemployed most of the time and dependent on her parents. It would just take some Euros or Dollars money to send her to College for four years and see her life and that of her parents changed for the best.

If she could pass the entrance exam, she would like to study IT (Information technologies). Otherwise she would take HRM (Hotels and restaurants management).
Registration begins from May 3 till May 14 and who knows, by then some sponsors may be found? One can dream!



07/04/2010
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 21 autres membres