Photos et lettres des Philippines, de France et d'ailleurs

Photos et lettres  des Philippines, de France  et d'ailleurs

May 2010: new road trips

May 1st, Labor Day is also public holiday in the Philippines and yet as this year it fell on a Saturday, former President Gloria Arroyo postponed it on Monday 3 so as not to waste a vacation day to those who benefit most, namely the public servants and the bank employees.
On 5, I drove one hour to Valencia where I took a difficult mountain trail to reach the Japanese shrine built at 850 meters above sea level with magnificent views of Dumaguete and the islands on a clear day which
was not the case that day. This monument was inaugurated in 1977 to commemorate one of the last battles of Negros where Americans and Philippines guerrillas fought the Japanese holed up in the mountains at the foot of mount Talinis. The three angles of the pillar reminiscent of the three countries engaged in this battle of the last hour.


(View of Dumaguete and Japanese Shrine)


The day after May 6, I went again for a tour and lunch at Balanan Lake only an hour from my home.


(Balanan lake)


On Monday, May 10, I stayed safely at home because it was the general elections in the Philippines where the people vote the same day for the president and vice president, parliamentarians, provincial governors and mayors and councilmen. The elections went off rather peacefully despite long waits as for the first time voting machines were used and many were out of order due to some microchips that had suffered from heat. Benigno Aquino, son of former President Corazon Aquino died recently, was elected the 15th President of the Philippines and I wish him good luck in a difficult environment.
On 12, I took the road to Valencia a new time and I went to see the Malobo falls more accessible than the Japanese shrine. These falls are less known than those of Casaroro also located in Valencia but are just as interesting without the need to descend and climb 350 steps in full sun.


(Casaroro falls)


They are downstream of the geothermal plant that provides electricity to the island of Negros, Panay, and part of Cebu. The residents told me that the red color of the water and rocks was caused by chemicals used by the factory, probably ferric sulfate, but I could not get any confirmation.


(Malobo falls)


The same evening I invited by Filipinos friends to celebrate the Fiesta de Sac Bag, Bacong.


(Some of my friends'wives)


The date of my return to France was approaching and I still wanted to take some unusual photos and then May 14, I took my old Pajero to begin an adventure that tempted me for a while, the 50 kilometers crossing of the mountain from Bayawan to Mabinay. I left early because of heat and arrived in the city of Bayawan 80 km from home a little before 9:00 am. There I made inquiries with a gas station on the condition of the road and the lady owner advised against undertaking the trip alone for security reasons. At the bus terminal, the drivers told me the same thing and later so did the policemen I met insisting that the area was infested with NPA rebels. Nevertheless I still traveled fifteen kilometers up in the mountain toward Mabinay but after I took a few pictures, I became uncertain and in doubt I reckoned to better follow the advice of locals and I turned back.


(The mountain road from Bayawan to Mabinay)


Some day if I'm not alone I'd like to resume this journey again.
On May 19, one week before my departure, I made one last trip to swim and lunch on the other side of the Tombobo bay in a resort managed by an Englishwoman who is a real jewel known mostly by backpackers.



(Kookoo's nest resort)


http://www.kookoosnest.com.ph/

On 23 I was invited back another fiesta, this time at Angelo and Elma house, in Dol Dol, Bacong.

The 25 I left to Manila and the 26 I took the flight Manila-Singapore and then Singapore-Paris aboard the Airbus A380 from Singapore Airlines. I arrived in Paris the next day at 7am.
I was glad to see my family and my friends for a stay of two months before returning in late July and welcome there in my Mag-abo house, some friends, my daughter and her friends and my wife in September.



12/06/2010
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 21 autres membres