Photos et lettres des Philippines, de France et d'ailleurs

Photos et lettres  des Philippines, de France  et d'ailleurs

November 2009: from 2 to 5, San Carlos and the Pinta Flores festival. On 7, lunch at Sam’s place. On 13, the Dumaguete’s students demonstrating for the preservation of mother Earth.

On November 2, I took the road as planned for San Carlos 200 kilometers to the north of my house. Due to the reconstruction of roads all around the island of Negros, I was speeding at 35 km per hour in average therefore  it took me almost six hours to get there.


(Some falling rocks as a bonus)

(Driving with always the coastline of Cebu in front)


I must also add near the cemeteries the traffic was slowed considerably. Here on November 1 and November 2, it is the traditional to visit the deceased with a festive atmosphere at odds with the pessimism of our All Saints 'Day in France. There they feast and drink it in the right mood to pay tribute to the departed.


(The surroundings of a cemetery along the road)

(Arriving near San Carlos, the cloudy sugar canes fields)


After lunch I took a room at the YM Business Inn for one night because the next day everything was already booked for the Pinta Flores festival. The room at 1095 pesos (16€) was comfortable and it was only missing the phone.
I dined that evening at the Italian restaurant La Grotta and I went to bed because I felt woozy and tired. The window's room looked toward the elementary school where students were rehearsing drums for the streets dancing of November 5 until after midnight preventing me from sleeping.
The next day I began looking for a room but all the hotels in town were fully booked. Always a little seedy and tired, I was ready to drive back to Dumaguete when someone told me to go to Lola's Nitang pension where I found an excellent room for 855 pesos (13€) but again it was only for one night.
Now it would have bothered me to miss the parade on 5 November and I spent part of my day trying to find lodging outside the city. I found two choices primarily a room at Wadys resort in the mountain overlooking San Carlos and another by the sea 15 km to the north of the city at Palau Beach Resort where I booked the last room free for the next day because of easier access to come and go in town, especially at night.


(Wadys resort and view from the terrace)


So November 3, I slept at Lola's Nitang pension but the hotel is located opposite the Plaza and the auditorium and there at 5 o'clock in the morning rehearsals of dancing and singing woke me up. I think I had to earn the parade of the next day with some lack of sleep.
My breakfast taken after a ride in town, I went to Palau to take possession of my room at 1000 pesos (15€) with the intention to rest overnight.


(The Church of San Carlos ready for the fiesta)


The rooms in Palau Beach Resort are comfortable and I actually slept well. The only problem was the restaurant where it took for the food at least one hour before arriving on the table. Out of curiosity I asked the waitress why all rooms being taken, I was alone in the restaurant. She replied with a smile that all the other guests were eating in town. Well too bad for me but I did not want to do a 30 kilometers round trip for dinner.


(The main building and a room of the Palau Beach Resort)


The next day November 5, I was already at 11 am in the city to attend the streets dancing supposed to start at noon. I ate a hamburger at the Gaisano Mall and then I went to Broce Street to watch the parade of Pinta Flores.
The Pinta Flores Festival takes place annually from November 3 to 5 and street dancers are dressed in costumes with floral motifs. This tradition is supposed to recall an ancient custom of the Visayas before Spanish colonization.
I arrived around 12:30 on Broce Street and on the sidewalk of the elementary school which drums prevented me from sleeping the first night, there was a canopy erected with tables, food and beverages for city officials. When they saw me pass, they waved hello to me, handed me a beer and invited me to sit down and eat. It is only after my fourth beer that I learned that the guy with whom I had befriended was in fact the mayor of the city. What a simplicity and kindness!


(Myself and the officials)

(Kids waiting for the parade and dancing in the street)


I then asked permission to remain with them to take pictures of the parade. I tried somehow to decline some of the many cold beers offered still wanting to get some good photos.


(Some photos of the streets dancing)


The parade arrived at about 1:40 pm at the same time than the rain which fortunately did not last. So I attended the famous Pinta Flores Festival with the city officials.
The streets dancing lasted about one hour and a half and I could take many pictures.
Once the party's over I took leave of my new friends and I went to Palau Beach Resorts to sleep off my beer and watch my photos on my laptop.


(The parade is finished and the officials are happy)


For my dinner I went down at 6 pm to choose and order my meal asking them to knock at my room's door when it is ready. It was really the best solution.
The next day at 6:30 am I took the road to Dumaguete where I had lunch around 12:30.
The next day November 7, I was invited with friends at Sam's place and we spent a good time. Sam is an excellent cook and his lamb fricassee was delicious.


(Lunch at Sam's place)


On November 13, I was returning from Amlan 24 kilometers north of the city when I heard a big noise in the street and to my big surprise I saw the students of the city demonstrating to defend the environment and the protection of animal species endangered. All is not lost in this land of contrasts after all!





15/11/2009
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 21 autres membres