Photos et lettres des Philippines, de France et d'ailleurs

Photos et lettres  des Philippines, de France  et d'ailleurs

June 2009 : The rest of my road trip with my old four-wheel drive, (second part) and Samboan

1 - From Kabankalan to Zamboanguita via Sipalay, Siaton and Tombobo. The afternoon of June 4, and the morning of June 5.
2-Samboan south of the island of Cebu on Sunday, June 7

Some twenty kilometers before Sipalay in the vicinity of Inayawan, the road climbs and overlooks the sea and the view is great especially with a sky back to the blue color.



(Inayawan, sea view from the cliff road)


It was about 2pm when I reached Sipalay wondering if I would spend the night there I had good addresses of resorts in Sugar Beach but finally I continued my journey towards Hinoba-An in the direction of the province of Negros Oriental.


(From Sipalay to Negros Oriental boundary, country landscapes)


The road that leads there is almost entirely rebuilt, but there are still some parts unfinished and bridges reconstructed despite the work had already started five years ago. We must believe that this part of Negros Occidental adjacent to Negros Oriental is not considered strategic.
Just before Basay I again crossed the border separating the two provinces and now I knew that the road to Dumaguete was excellent.



(Boundaries of the two provinces of Negros)


I arrived at 4:45 pm in Bayawan very tired as I was driving since 7:30 am and I was wondering about the merits of driving another hour and a half to get home at dusk. So I decided to find a room for the night and wait for the next day to finish my journey.

I booked a room at the Hotel Casa Rosario for 950 pesos (€ 15). The rooms are a bit antiquated but comfortable.



(Casa Rosario, a standard room)


I wouldn't say much about their Chinese/Japanese restaurant where I was the only customer of the evening. Anyway I wasn't food poisoned and that's the most important.

Before dinner I took advantage of the hour to go to the Boulevard to take some pictures at sunset.


(Bayawan Boulevard and sea front)


Friday June 5, I set off to the city of Siaton at the southern tip of Negros.


(Siaton City Hall and Park)


There, not in a hurry and I am always on the lookout for some pictures.


(A plowman)

The smiling curious girl)


I went down to the Tombobo bay,


(Tombobo bay, above le local bancas and below the Foreigners'sailboats)


then back north to Antulang before driving down on the highway towards Zamboanguita and finally get at home at lunchtime.


(The transplanting of rice)

(A corn field and the Nipa Hut of the farmer)


I drove two and a half days and covered 631 km, happy to have done it and glad that my Pajero didn't fail me during the trip.


(The Zamboanguita Church)


The next Saturday, as planned, I invited all my friends and their wives for lunch at the Why Not restaurant in Dumaguete, to say goodbye before returning to France for three months to enjoy the summer and especially my family.

As usual the steaks washed down with a Bordeaux wine and Chilean wines as well were delicious
My week was not yet complete because Charly and I were invited on Sunday near Samboan in the south of Cebu island by Claude, a Belgian friend and former sailor, who was now managing a small resort, Fantasy lodge.



(Fantasy Lodge)

http://fantasylodgecebu.com/

To our great delight, our friend Roland was also among us. I have already mentioned him in a previous article but couldn't resist doing it again. He retired from the SNCF (National French Trains Company) at the age of 50, then he took him twelve years to build his trimaran and then he travelled the world's seas for seven years. He is now 76 years old and finally he dropped anchor in the Philippine to seldom sail again. His boat is for sale now.


(Roland resting)


Before dinner, Claude a talented handyman, made us admire the motor bike he had renovated with all its chrome shining making Charly drool as he also a motor bike lover and owning also a beautiful one.
It's funny because in my case the sailboats, motor homes and motorcycles have always made me dream as means of escape but I also knew they weren't meant for me except as a passenger.


(The motorbike and Charly and the motorbike)


The food cooked by Brigett, Claude's wife, was excellent and enhanced, among other wines, by a bottle of Saint-Emilion 1er cru 2001 that he had saved for us.


(Claude, Charly and the wine. Don't worry my glass isn't far)

(Birgett, Claude and their two kids)


Later we took the 4 pm boat bound to Sibulan before returning to our respective homes for a well deserved rest.
How hard is the life of a retired expatriate living half the year in the Philippines!



11/06/2009
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 21 autres membres