Photos et lettres des Philippines, de France et d'ailleurs

Photos et lettres  des Philippines, de France  et d'ailleurs

From 1 to May 21, 2012 : Siquijor during the hottest month of the year and then return to France

May in the Philippines is the second month and last month of the summer school holidays and also the hottest before the rainy season arrives.
Already farmers plow the fields in anticipation of the arrival of rains and school supplies are even on sale in supermarkets for the school year starting in June.
I had no more than three weeks left before going back to France and I took the opportunity to spend two days on the island of Siquijor where I had not been for more than three years.
Discovered by the Spaniards in 1565, it was called Isla del Fuego due to the large number of fireflies, which gave the island an eerie glow.

Today it is the third smallest province of the Philippines with an area of ​​343.5 km2, 102 km of coastline and a population of about 90,000 inhabitants. With its countless white sandy beaches and coral reefs, the island is becoming today one of the favorite tourists spots of the Philippines.

 


Siquijor is said to have magic potions, shamans, sorcerers and witches and a lot of Filipinos will not stay overnight on this island because of this superstition.

I remember visiting an herbal doctor in 2003 in the mountain village of San Antonio, afterward and without really believing it, I was temporary relieved of my knees 'pain so who knows?


(The herbal doctor in 2003, he passed away since)

 

It takes about 45 minutes by fast craft to get from Dumaguete to Siquijor.

For information the provincial capital and the island bear the same name of Siquijor.
On May 3, I boarded the 9 am Delta boat and once at Siquijor pier, I took a tricycle to get to Larena, the second city of the island, and then went to Casa de la Playa resort where I had stayed in 2009, to rent a room. I just did not know that it was fiesta day in Larena and therefore the resort was fully booked.


(Sunset in front of Casa de la Playa resort)


http://www.siquijorcasa.com/

The tricycle driver advised me to go back to Siquijor city and then to San Juan where I finally found a place to stay in Charisma Resort owned by an Englishman. At 30€, the rooms are comfortable but unfortunately with a very noisy air conditioning.


(Charisma Resort and the beach)

 

http://www.charisma-resort.com/

For the following day I had booked the same tricycle for 18 € to visit as suggested the main tourist areas of the island. Though I had already seen the places before, I still wanted to take new photos.
May 4, at 9 am, I went first to the famous Balate tree said to be 400 years old with his roots near a washing-place fed by spring water.

 

(The 400 years old Balate tree and the wshing-place)


Next were the Cambugahay falls 2 km from the town of Lazi. This is a beautiful place but with 135 steps to climb down but mostly to climb up under a scorching sun, I had then to change my T-shirt soaked with sweat and to rest my legs.

 

(The Cambugahay Falls)

 

After I visited near Lazi the old, Spanish church San Isidro built in 1857 but sadly, the roof is now made of corrugated iron. It is also unfortunate that the nearby former convent before a museum is now closed.

 

(The old Spanish San Isidro Church)


Finally, to finish my tour before lunch, I went near the town of Maria to visit the Salagdoong beach, which is popular with Filipinos especially during this holiday period.

 

(Salagdoong Beach and the Filipinos on vacation)


Except for the civil servants, banks and education employees, annual vacations are unknown to most Filipinos at best they have nothing else but a few long weekends a year.

 

(The Filipinos love also eating and picnics)


Therefore, after this beach, I took the way back to my resort and went to eat at Coral Cay Resort where the fishes are fresh and delicious.

 

(Sunset in front of Coral Cay resort)


(www.coralcayresort.com


(The Charisma resort's staff working with a smile)

 

The next day I took the 10 am boat to Dumaguete and then went home where the maintenance work fortunately ended.
On May 10, I made another road trip in the mountains under a cloudy sky while driving on a track more and more difficult to use. Later I descended towards the seaside to eat one more time Fish and Chips at Kookoo's Nest Resort.

 

(In the mountain above zamboanguita by a cloudy day)

(Antulang, view on Tombobo Bay)


(Kookoo's Nest Resort with bad weather)


Then apart from some errands in Dumaguete, I remained at home in Mag-abo both happy going back to France to find again my family and friends but also sad to leave my home and my animals.

 

(Many fishermen in front of the house the eve of my departure)

(A good bye to my dogs Gordon and Zarah)


(Then to our cow Marguerite)

(And finally tou our daily 5 pm vistors, the white collar kingfishers)


I flew to Manila on May 20 and on the 21 to Singapore and Paris where I arrived at 6:20 am on the 22 to exit only at 7:45 am.
The least we can say is that the Paris airport Charles de Gaulle has much work to do to be at the level of the main international airports in the world and especially the Asian ones.

 

(While in transit at Changi Singapor airport)


Finally, I was happy to be here and to spend the summer in my village and my country.



05/06/2012
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 21 autres membres