Photos et lettres des Philippines, de France et d'ailleurs

Photos et lettres  des Philippines, de France  et d'ailleurs

April 2011: The painting of the roof and a few road trips

April ended as it began rather quietly and my main task was to take care of the painting of the roof which the previous color that was three years old had faded under the effects of sun, rain and sea air.
These were five of my house keeper’s brothers-in-law, who undertook the work.
Coming from Amlan located about fifty kilometers north, they took up residence in the house their sister during their job which lasted seven days in a row because they did not want to go back home the Sunday to save the money of the transportation and also completing the work before Good Friday that is here a sacred holiday devoted to prayer and family.
Easter week could be compared to our Assumption week in France, but furthermore here there is an intense religious fervor that culminates on Friday. During this period the activities are idling and are completely stopped on Good Friday.


(The Easter full moon on the sea in front of the house)

(The Easter Sunday swimming)


So once on the roof, the workers used ropes like the mountain climbers to secure themselves and it took 60 kilos of paint to achieve the job.


(The painting of the roof)


Therefore I remained a good deal of my time at home nevertheless interrupted with small day trips to take some pictures.
April 2, I went to Hinoba-year about 150 km to the south and then north after passing the southern tip of Negros Island.


(Rural life on the Hinoba-an highway)


On April 5, I went to Siaton and Maloh and about 40 km south.


(On the Maloh road)


Right now I avoid the north of Dumaguete because stretches of road are under construction but on April 13, I went anyway to the Twin Lakes 50 km north but when I approached the mountain it was to find clouds and rain. It was definitely too bad a weather for photography.


(Kids on the Twin Lakes road)


On 16, I had lunch at a resort in Siaton about 30 km from home, Monarch Sands Beach Resort, and I returned on the 19, after having visited Banalan lake again.  It is really a nice place even if the cottages seem to be a bit rustic but at 2 or 3 times cheaper than the other resorts, they are good value for money.


(Monarch Sands Beach Resort)


http://www.monarchsands.com/


(Banalan lake)


April 21, I traveled no more than 40 km back and forth but it was in the mountain above Zamboanguita. It is another world as the land appears so barren and there the people are even poorer than in the plain.


(Mountain road above Zamboanguita)


I finished my trips of the month on April 23, driving from my home to Santa Catalina 75 km south on the western side of Negros and then crossing the mountains for about 35 km before reaching Pamplona and Tanjay on the eastern side . I had made this tour a year earlier without much difficulty and I wanted to try again tried again the adventure.
The least I could say that it wasn’t a very good idea, this track already deemed dangerous because of sporadic clashes taking place between the army and rebels NPA (National People's Army) had completely deteriorated within a year due to rains and landslides and since the elections were now finished, had not been repaired.


(The 32 kilometers track between Santa Catalina and Pamplona)


I took two hours and a half to drive 32 km in the heat and I was too worried to get my car and myself safely out of this mess to make some photos.
I had texted my house keeper before climbing the mountain for safety sake because there was no phone signal up there and I had to text him again once arrived in Pamplona and safe. He was about to call the police when I could finally get in touch with him.
I'm not about to repeat that madness especially alone and since yesterday my Pajero is in at the repair shop with a ball joint to be changed as this part has not withstood the trial.



01/05/2011
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 21 autres membres