Photos et lettres des Philippines, de France et d'ailleurs

Photos et lettres  des Philippines, de France  et d'ailleurs

11-End of January 2003 till April 2003

At the end of January 2003 here I am again seeking the beach lot of my dreams.
First I visit one of 2500 sqm in Dauin, 14 km south of Dumaguete. The entrance is on an asphalt road and the beach with its golden sand is splendid but that's the snag, the price of 4 million pesos is too high for my budget.
Then it is another one of 2000 sqm in Masaplod, 17km to the south of Dumaguete. It is Charly who found it during my absence, it is very nice, the price of 1.8 million is suitable and the access is easy. Alas it is too late, it has been just sold to a Filipino from Manila. The adjacent property of 3000 sqm is then proposed to me. My impression isn't as good because it is let lie fallow with hollows and bumps. The price according to neighbors is 2 million and then the owner arrives and at the sight of my white skin the price immediately raises up to 2.8 Million. The Filipino price now became an "americano price." I turn the heels then completely disgusted and my comments are not fully pleasant for them.
Then followed some other visits with always a problem or another.
On February 9, 2003 I admit defeat and I write on my notebook "I GIVE UP" and I devote myself to the pleasure of the sun and the sea in company of friends.

However a few days later whereas I am in my room in Ok Pension, the telephone rings and I am told that somebody wishes to see me at the lobby. I go down and am surprised to see Tata, one of the brokers with whom I visited the land in Mag-abo one year earlier, which I liked so much, before they increased its price from 2 to 3 million pesos. Another lady who is now her partner accompanies her.

She informs me then about the object of her visit. She is not an only a broker but also the owner's cousin of the coveted land and would like to know if I am still interested and I answer that it depends on the price. She then makes me an offer at 2 million pesos and one will have understood that this inversion of tendency corresponds to a need for urgent money.
In order to be sure of my choice, on March 4, 2003 we go to the property for which I am still enthusiastic. I also notice the bad condition of the wire fencing and tell the 2 women.

On March 8, I go back there again with Charly who also likes the place but as usual and for my greater benefit, starts to question the neighborhood who informs us that the access way is private and does not belong to the municipality. My first anguish! Does the owner have the right-of-way? Tata says yes but if we carry on with the sale, my attorney will check all the legal papers.
So next I make a proposal, I offer 1.9 million pesos for the beach lot but with a down payment of 400.000 and the balance payable in September. Indeed the second war of Iraq had just broken out and consequently my savings invested in the Stock Exchange were at their lowest.
On March 10, I obtain the agreement of the owner but with a down payment of 500.000 pesos and I agree.
The following day I return to the lot again accompanied by the attorney who wants to see the property by himself and to also make his investigation with the neighbors.

(Upper picture, my attorney)

On March 21, the attorney informs me that all papers are in order and that I can buy without fear.
On March 24, the brokers and I have appointment with the attorney to make our intentions known to him.
On March 27, that's a new turn of events, the owner wants a down payment of 50% meaning 950.000 pesos and I refuse categorically all the more easily as a money transfer of 500.000 pesos is already in process. Finally they accept again the initial agreement and we are now all waiting for the money to arrive.
Meanwhile, I got so mad that I almost cancelled everything. I had indeed asked the brokers to have the wire fencing repaired and Tata and her girlfriend instead of giving the little money necessary for that, made my future coconut trees cut to finance the work. Furthermore these greedy idiots instead of making cut down those which would obstruct later the construction of the house and the fence, also made chopped those on the beach so beautiful for the scenery and so useful against erosion. Finally I arrived too late and 23 coconuts had thus perished and I was obliged to cool down regain my control unless I gave up my project and started all over again.
Finally on April 14, the deed of conditional sale is signed in the attorney's office and the money given to Tata who had received for the transaction, a special power attorney from her cousin the owner living in Manila. Myself am also holding a special power attorney given by my wife.

Although in the name of my spouse, I am now the happy owner of a beach property and then it is not a bad deal. Between 2002 and 2003, the exchange rate of the European money had increased making this lot the same price in Euros than the first one I had visited and for which I had been too quickly carried away in 2002 and there is no comparison between the two.

In addition I have now an employee in charge of looking after the property and to clean it. Dodong is his nickname and he was already working for the former owner.

(Dodong and his 3 kids)



23/08/2007
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 21 autres membres